My Journaling Template

One journaling tool I use to help me write consistently is a “template.” There’s no shame in using one. A template is simply a prompt to think about certain things that I might not otherwise think about as I sit down to journal at the end of a long day. Many days I reach the time when I want to sit down and write, and I simply can’t think of what to say. Lots of things come flooding into my mind, mostly disconnected thoughts, and nothing much makes sense. A template helps to bring order out of chaos.

Here’s one that I’m using now, along with some explanatory notes:

A picture for the day

Since I am an amateur photographer, I often like to include a picture to document the day. This also helps remind me during the day to look for opportunities to photograph.

What I am grateful for today

I believe in the power of gratitude, so every day I try to think of at least one thing that I am thankful for.

As I prayed and meditated this morning, these were my thoughts

Some of the more profound thoughts for the day come out of my quiet time. This is when I read and meditate and so I am digging deeper into my inner self. This is really the “point” most journal keepers seek to write about.

Looking back over today, this stands out in my personal life

What were one or two things that really stood out today in this area of my life. Quite honestly, sometimes there’s nothing here (and that goes for the next two categories, also). Sometimes one of the categories fills up the day for me, and I don’t write anything about the others. That’s okay! That’s just life!

Looking back over today, this stands out in my home life

Looking back over today, this stands out in my work life

Describe today’s weather

I do this just because I want to remember what the day was like – and sometimes it helps to interpret my moods, my thoughts and perceptions.

What was the major news of the day?

This, again, just helps me to remember what was going on in the world at-large, and helps interpret moods, thoughts and perceptions.

Any particular feelings about it?

Sometimes they are very strong, such as on 9/11, and there is much to say about my feelings. Sometimes it’s not really worth mentioning (or so it seems today), but that bit of news may show a little about what our world was like during this time.

I actually came up with this template on New Year’s Eve, and already I’ve tweaked it several times. So it doesn’t have to remain static; you can make it your own. But it does have to accomplish the purpose of prompting you to think about certain things.

Within some journal programs there is also a way to create a rotating template. Each day will produce a new question or idea to write about. That is also a very viable option in template journaling. And, again, let me remind you there’s nothing wrong in creating a template to prompt your writing. Most of us need help in generating ideas, and bringing out the flow of thoughts. Once you have written your thoughts, you could even delete the prompts to create a more flowing journal experience for the reader (even if that’s just you at some future time).

Here is an entry I made just a few days ago.

A picture for the day

The drying out process was completed by               today, so we went over to the house to have a look. They left quite a mess, but everything is now dry. All the flooring in the two bathrooms, the master bedroom, the hallway, the office, and the living room were torn up and disposed of, and blowers and dehumidifiers were used to dry out the sheet rock. Some of the baseboards were pulled up and discarded, also.

Friday we meet with the flooring company to discuss our options for replacement, and to hear what the next phase will be. While we were not wanting this to happen, it may turn out to be a blessing as we try to sell our house in the near future. We have much work to do to prepare the rest of the house and the grounds.

What I am grateful for today010513_0324_MyJournalin2.jpg

I am grateful this little guy made it through the day! This is                                 , the son of            and. They rushed him to the hospital, where he is now responding and recuperating.

Father God, we praise you and thank you for the healing power of your son, Jesus. Thank you for redeeming          life!

Looking back over today, this stands out in my personal life

Today has been an emotional day. The incident with         just about drained me. I know he is no blood relation to me, but the                have been friends of ours for nearly 30 years. I performed the wedding for             and           , and just feel a closeness to them and their family, as well of                 and                  . And having a grandson or two about the same age, it just really hit me hard. When we got word he was likely going to be okay, I sat in my chair and just cried, Alma holding on to me and crying, too.

Looking back over today, this stands out in my home life

          has been sick today, aching all over and nauseated. She did come down and eat a bite this evening at supper, and watched a movie with us. Then went back to bed.

Looking back over today, this stands out in my work life

I simply don’t feel I’m getting anything done at                . I tried to line up several visits today, but was unsuccessful. I finally visited a lady in the nursing home, and had a short prayer with her. I doubt she knew anything about it, but I trust she was aware in her spirit. I need to be working full-time, so I can devote myself to ministry in ways that really count. But this is also a business, and if there’s not enough income, then paying me a full-time wage is not warranted.

Describe today’s weather

What a dreary day today! Rain most of the day with dark, heavy clouds.

What was the major news of the day?

WASHINGTON — Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton was released from a New York hospital on Wednesday, three days after doctors discovered a blood clot in her head.

Clinton’s medical team advised her Wednesday evening that she was making good progress on all fronts and said they are confident she will fully recover, said Clinton spokesman Philippe Reines. Doctors had been treating Clinton with blood thinners to dissolve a clot in a vein that runs through the space between the brain and the skull behind the right ear.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Journaling Template

  1. Pingback: How to Jumpstart a Journaling Habit with 7 Simple Templates - KnowledgeGyaan

Leave a Reply

