PlaceMe

Remembering where I’ve been day to day is always a problem for me. Maybe it’s just my forgetful nature, although the older I get the more naturally forgetful I am. By the end of a long day, I have trouble remembering where I was that morning.

A tool I recently discovered and use on a daily basis now is “PlaceMe.” PlaceMe is an application for either the iPhone or Android smartphones that automatically records your location throughout the day. You don’t need to pay attention to it, as it records your whereabouts without the need for you to “check in.” And not only will it keep a record on your phone, but it can also download to Evernote.

This is what a day looks like:

Home
__________ Ln, League City, TX
11 hours 31 minutes
10:43 PM
September 12, 2012

Starbucks
100 East Main Street, League City, TX, United States
6 hours 40 minutes
10:23 AM

Home
___________ Ln, League City, TX
46 minutes
05:12 PM

Art and Pat Goforth Elementary School
2610 Webster Street, League City, TX 77573, United States
44 minutes
06:00 PM

Cracker Barrel
231 Gulf Freeway South, League City, TX, United States
1 hour 24 minutes
06:51 PM

Target
1801 Gulf Fwy, Dickinson, TX, United States
11 minutes
08:24 PM

Home
___________ Ln, League City, TX
2 hours 46 minutes
09:13 PM

I had a few issues with it on my iPhone; it would not always record my location. This lasted for a few days, and then I received an update for the program, and since that time, it has recorded accurately. I also had an issue when I was using two different units.  I had installed the program on my iPhone, and also on my Android tablet.  When I carried them both to the same location, it duplicated the locations.  Sounds reasonable, right? But then I had to delete some to come up with a clean reading.  All in all, I’ve been very pleased with its performance.

I copy the list into my electronic journal, and then I can return later to fill in details of my activities at those locations.  The locations are great as a memory prompt.

This entry was posted in Journaling Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

